43rd Anniversary Dinner a roaring success

Thursday, 20 July 2017

ACCA’s 43rd Anniversary dinner held on 20 July 2017 was a roaring success with about 500 guests in attendance including The Hon Gladys Berejiklian MP, Premier of NSW.  A record amount of funds was also raised.

The Sydney Boys High School 8-string band gave a fine musical recital as the guests arrived from 6.30pm before the start of the formalities.

ACCA President, Ms Shirley Chan in her welcoming address said that she was delighted with the huge increase in enquiries following the deregulation of the Home Care programs in February this year. She also mentioned that ACCA is proud to have started serving its’ first NDIS client.  Overall the prospects for growth for ACCA’s core business of home and community care are very bright, she said.

Shirley Chan also voiced her sadness over the loss of three senior ACCA leaders this year – the first President of ACCA  Mr Kip Fong OAM, former Council member Mr Robert Ho OAM, and former Acting President and Secretary Mr Peter Chan.  She paid tribute to these former senior office bearers whose past contributions had helped ACCA to be what it is today – an organisation with 1,000 financial members and many dedicated employees serving hundreds of clients and members each week.

“To the next of kin of these 3 heroes of ACCA who are with us tonight – Jean Fong, Helen Sham-Ho, and Pauline Chan – on behalf of ACCA I say “Thank You“ for all the help your loved ones had given to ACCA . We’ll always be grateful and we’ll always remember them” said Shirley Chan.

The Guest of Honour, The Hon Gladys Berejiklian MP, Premier of NSW arrived to a rousing reception.  In her eloquent speech she acknowledged the contributions made by ACCA to the Chinese community in providing valuable aged and community care services. The Premier also praised the contributions made by the Award recipients, The Hon Dr Helen Sham-Ho OAM and Mr Benjamin Chow AO.

It was the first time ever that a Lifetime Community Service Award has been presented by ACCA. The awards given to Helen Sham-Ho and Ben Chow were in recognition of their lifelong service not only to the Chinese community but also to the wider Australian community. Both are known to be active in charity work in community organisations and the universities helping to raise thousands of dollars for medical research and the advancement of education.  

The night also saw fierce biddings for auction items. Auctioneer Mark Coure MP ensured the room was filled with excitement and the bids kept coming. 

Well-known singers Mr Ken Ng and Ms Laraine Li entertained the crowd with their renditions of Chinese and Australian favourites.  The two red lions from the Yau Kung Mun Martial Arts Association sprang into action and gave a display of their artistic and acrobatic movements accompanied by loud beating of the drums and cymbals. Many of the guests fed the hungry lions with red packets containing bank notes – the lion symbolises power, leadership, and good fortune so it’s always wise to pay homage to them.

ACCA wishes to thank the other VIPs who graced the occasion with their presence - The Hon Ray Williams MP, Minister for Multiculturalism, and Minister for Disability Services; and Mr Michael Daley MP, Deputy Opposition Leader (representing Mr Luke Foley MP, Leader of the NSW Opposition). Both spoke highly of ACCA’s services to its members and the community.

ACCA also acknowledges the presence of many other distinguished guests –

The Hon Scott Farlow MLC, Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier (Leader of the House) in the Legislative Council

Mr John Sidoti MP, Parliamentary Secretary to Cabinet

Dr Geoff Lee MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier, Western Sydney and Multiculturalism

Mr Mark Coure MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Transport and Infrastructure

The Hon Ernest Wong MLC

Mr Bruce Notley-Smith, Member for Coogee

Ms Julia Finn MP, Member for Granville

Mr Alex Greenwich MP, Member for Sydney

Mr David Coleman MP, Member for Banks (Federal)

Mr Trent Zimmerman MP, Member for North Sydney (Federal)

Clr Christine Forster, Councillor of City of Sydney

Clr Adrian Wong, Councillor of Fairfield City Council; Director of ACCA

Clr Ted Seng, former Mayor and current Councillor of Randwick City Council

Emeritus Mayor Tony Maroun, former Mayor of Burwood and Strathfield Councils

Mr Vince Badalati, former Mayor of Hurstville City Council

Mr Con Hindi, former Mayor of Hurstville City Council

Mr Annie Tang, former Deputy Mayor of Kogarah City Council

Mr Dominic Sin, former Deputy Mayor of Hurstville City Council

Ms Nancy Liu, former Deputy Mayor of Hurstville City Council

Ms Miray Hindi, former Councillor of Kogarah City Council

Mr Kim Jaggar, Principal, Sydney Boys High School

Mr Kenrick Cheah, President, Chinese Australian Forum

Mr Sen Huynh, Vice-Chairman, Australian Chinese Buddhist Society

Mr John Fang, Vice-President, Sun Yat Sen University Australia Alumni Assoc Inc


ACCA’s 43rd Anniversary Dinner was certainly a night to remember.


Editorial Team